This is our story!


Unexpected challenges and digitalisation

2021
An unusual start to the new year: due to the ongoing pandemic situation, PSI will only be held digitally this year. So new ways have to be found to inform the industry about the umbrella innovations.

The FARE® DoggyBrella, an umbrella with a very special additional benefit, was awarded the Red Dot Design Award in the product design category. Its removable handle is filled with a roll of dog waste bags. It is also printed throughout with paw prints - a must-have for every dog owner.

FARE is launching the #waterSAVEchallenge to support the organisation viva con agua. All retailers are invited to take part. With every waterSAVE® umbrella model sold, FARE will donate 6 cents per litre of water saved to viva con agua for concrete projects such as water filters, hygiene workshops, etc. The industrial customer who has chosen the waterSAVE® umbrella model will receive the donation certificate for the supported project.


2020
This year FARE celebrated its 65th anniversary. An actual celebration could not take place due to the pandemic, but there were still many exciting events. Clients were able to benefit from special promotional offers this year.

In March, the FARE feed went online: a new section on the homepage with a mix of exciting stories and useful facts about current issues, campaigns and products.

As the campaign progressed, FARE reacted flexibly to the current situation and added masks to its programme. The reusable community mask FARE®-Mundschirm can be designed online by customers thanks to an introduced mask designer. Another milestone was the introduction of a new cloud-based ERP (enterprise resource planning) system in August. This has put FARE in a competitive and innovative position for the digital future.

This was also a thoroughly exciting year at the product level. Once again, two new products convinced the juries and won an award: the oversize pocket umbrella FARE®-AOC Colorline is the red dot winner 2020 and the AC midsize stick umbrella FARE®-Sound won the Promotional Gift Award 2020.

The introduction of the waterSAVE cover material at the beginning of the year represented an innovation in sustainability. This combines the use of recycled plastics with a sustainable dyeing process. This resource-saving process was used for three new products and the popular Style series. The cover material was also certified according to STANDARD 100 by OEKO-TEX®.

The popular Welcome Home Tour takes place contactless for the first time: With a virtual exhibition hall, combined with live presentations via video chat, the participating companies have created a new home for the tour.

FARE was awarded in the new category of the Sustainability Awards "Innovator of the Year". The resource-saving production of the waterSAVE® cover material and the fact that all companies along the value chain - from the manufacturer to the end customer - fulfil a role model function in terms of sustainability convinced the jury.


More intensive marketing, new innovations and further growth


2019

Modern design, combined with FARE®'s customary quality, was also an important impetus for continuing to make our products special in this year's new products. This was proven once again by the 5062 FiligRain Only95 mini pocket umbrella and the 7399 FARE®-Precious, which won a double award in the Red Dot Award: Product Design 2019.

FARE®'s decision to offer its own apprenticeships in warehouse logistics and e-commerce in September 2019, as well as a dual study programme with a focus on business informatics, is intended to ensure a successful future for the company.

In July, the time had finally come! The new FARE® building was inaugurated and occupied! This took place with a small summer party, where the management celebrated the move-in with employees, relatives, architects, neighbours, representatives of the contractors and craftsmen. 

This marks the beginning of a new chapter for FARE®. The successful investment in the extension is thus a promise for the future and long-term development of the company.


2017 - 2018
The topic of "sustainability" is also becoming increasingly important in the promotional products industry. We at FARE® were the first in the umbrella industry to tackle the issue of "green articles" in 2011. Our article 3299 ÖkoBrella has a cover made of recycled plastic material and a frame made of rapidly renewable bamboo. At the beginning of September 2017, the 5429 AOC mini pocket umbrella ÖkoBrella is awarded Sustainable Product of the Year 2017 by the jury of the
PSI Sustainability Awards.

In mid-September of that year, a truly major project gets underway - with the groundbreaking ceremony, Managing Director Volker Griesel officially opens the construction site for an extension that will connect the previously separate buildings and create a representative whole.

Inventiveness and quality are two important characteristics that define our products. This is proven once again by the 7905 AC midsize cane umbrella FARE®-Switch with its LED-lit cane, which won the Promotional Gift Award 2018 in December, as well as the 7939 guest umbrella FARE®-Square, which was awarded "Honourable Mention" in the Red Dot Award: Product Design 2018. Products that impress with well thought-out detailed solutions are honoured with this honourable mention for a particularly successful aspect of design work.

In addition to the FARE® main catalogue - now called FACTBOOK - the FARE® STYLEBOOK is published for the first time. This provides the advertising material trade with a new sales document for their industrial customers, which simply whets the appetite for our quality umbrellas on 32 pages!

The topping-out ceremony in May 2018 is a traditional celebration of the completion of the building shell and paves the way for a successful future.


2016
The jury of the Promotional Gift Awards gave the FARE® Style an award in the category "Communicative Product" for its special colour concept. One more reason to expand the successful Style family with an automatic pocket umbrella that takes the unusual combination of coloured rails and handle rings and expands it with coloured seams.

The electric mini pocket umbrella FARE®-iAuto was also awarded by this jury. In addition, our world first, which opens and closes completely electrically at the touch of a button, also received the recognised Red Dot Design Award.

As part of the "Experience Business" event, the FARE® factory outlet is opened in Remscheid Lüttringhausen, where we display part of our range and offer it for sale.

At www.fabrella.de, FARE® has provided an online shop for end consumers.


2012 - 2015
The FARE® team consistently pushes ahead with product expansions and developments and small remaining gaps in the range are closed. The new products are tailored to the advertising market and convince with fashionable and innovative products. A responsible approach to the environment and people in the production facilities is very important to FARE. For this reason, the company is a member of the BSCI. Through constant auditing, FARE is demonstrably and visibly committed to fair working conditions and occupational health and safety in the supplier countries.

In summer 2015, FARE® celebrates its 60th anniversary in the Wolkenburg in Cologne.

On the occasion of this event, FARE is presenting a world first: FARE®-iAuto! The first pocket umbrella that can be opened electrically and closed completely at the touch of a button. Instead of presents, Managing Director Volker Griesel wishes for shining children's eyes on the occasion of the company's 60th birthday. 20,000 euros are handed over to Salvatore Lerose in August to support the promotion measures of the Lerose Foundation.

Due to the influx of refugees, there is a great need for clothing and hygiene articles. Umbrellas are also urgently needed in the emergency shelters. In addition to umbrella donations, FARE® supports the refugee project of radio journalist Horst Kläuser and is developing the "Remscheid Umbrella for Refugees". Various Remscheid retail shops sell the umbrella. The proceeds from the umbrellas go immediately to refugee work.

With the introduction of the FARE®-Style, FARE® offers an elegant midsize stick umbrella with an anthracite cover and a surprising colour concept; when opened at the push of a button, the bright colours of the stick, rails and handle ring are revealed, giving the umbrella an appealing overall design.

In autumn, the new website with a new webshop is published.

Günter Schmidt is given power of attorney in 2015, and by the end of 2015 the FARE® team has grown to 42 employees.


2013

The FARE team is consistently driving the product upgrades and developments forwards. The new product models are tailored to the advertising market and are convincing due to fashionable and innovative models. A responsible way of dealing with the environment and people is very important to FARE. For this reason, the company is a member of the amfori BSCI. Through constant auditing, FARE demonstrably and visibly campaigns for fair working conditions and health and safety in the workplace in the supplier countries. To the Code of Conduct.

2012
The strengthening of the sales team and the establishment of an IT Department allow the FARE team to continue to grow. The new PR campaign "I am real", which presents umbrellas as people in familiar life situations, is very popular. Lutz Albrecht is granted the general power of attorney to act for the company.


2011
The FARE team has now grown to include some 34 employees. An internal marketing department is established in the company. Marketing activities are intensified. In close cooperation with an advertising agency, the brand’s mission statement is reworked. In the course of the development of the new corporate design for FARE, the logo is again modified. The dominant shadow is removed.


FARE continous to grow

2009
Office space is extended to include a second high bay warehouse and screen printers.

2007
The company name is changed. Formerly “Guenther Fassbender Inh. Gerhard Griesel GmbH”, the company is renamed on 01.01.2007 “FARE – Guenther Fassbender GmbH”. As in the new logo, the brand name FARE is clearly prominent here, thus neatly rounding off the brand modernisation which began in 2005.

2006
JCK Holding Ltd Textil KG becomes a partner in FARE; its global presence in sales and purchasing create valuable synergies for the company. Various renowned companies from the promotional product industry are incorporated under the roof of this holding (see “Our partners”).

2005
FARE celebrates its 50th birthday. In its anniversary year, the FARE team is right where it wants to be: of the 25 million umbrellas imported to Germany each year, approx. 1.5 million are from FARE. This approximates to a quantitative market share of roughly 6%. FARE calculates the actual value of the share at around 15 %. The fare logo is modified. It is now modern, clear and unambiguous. The diamond shaped pictogram is retained: the globe is replaced by a stylised umbrella. At heart of the logo: FARE as a brand.

2004
Junior boss Volker Griesel takes over 100% of the company shares. Various staff celebrate long years of service in the company (10 years: S. Heinrich, 15 years: G. Dörner, 25 years: B. Drewniok).

2002/03

FARE is the first company to sell TÜV-certified double automatic oversize pocket umbrellas.

2001

The construction of a large new building incorporating a state-of-the-art high-bay warehouse ensures the young, motivated FARE team are able to fulfil FARE’s promise to provide “Top quality, market prices and excellent service.” The number of employees doubles. And something new again: FARE sells its first rucksacks.

2000
FARE is the first company to provide TÜV certification for some of its luxury models. From now on, all Windfighter® products are given the TÜV seal of approval.


The question of succession is resolved


1999/00

Innovation à la FARE
FARE was the first, and to date only, company to launch the Genie® Magic on the market – the smallest automatically opening and closing pocket umbrella in the world.

1998
The corporate succession is initiated when Volker Griesel, now a managing director of the company, acquires a 40% share in the company. Brand name products and various products which conform to ISO standards establish FARE as a first-rate, independent label. Best proof: once again, FARE is the first company to launch Magic-Light® on to the market, a magical, automatically opening and closing mini pocket umbrella made of aluminium, which weighs just 300 g.

1997
Griesel senior brings Griesel junior on board: Gerhard Griesel and his son Volker travel together to Taiwan, Hong Kong and China. In the same year, FARE is the first company to sell a mini pocket umbrella made of aluminium, weighing just 200 g.

1994/95
FARE now concentrates exclusively on high-quality promotional umbrellas and secures exclusive sales rights for the new generation of mini pocket umbrellas that open and close automatically: FARE’s magical mini, the Trimagic®, is a complete hit.

1993
Modification of the FARE logo. The colouring is changed. The globe, introduced to the logo whilst the company focused on export, is retained.


The first global innovation


1989

The company is renamed FARE Ltd. With Taiwan now becoming too expensive, Gerhard Griesel transfers umbrella production to China, and presents the world with a stunning innovation: the first pocket umbrella to open and close automatically (later also known as FUTEC).

1986
New domicile
Company moves to new and larger premises in Remscheid-Lennep (Germany), Westring 20.


Concentrating on promotional umbrellas


1977

Umbrellas take first place Asia is catching up fast, so it’s hardly surprising that tool exports decline. Thus Gerhard Griesel begins to concentrate more strongly on umbrellas: the import of finished fashion umbrellas increasingly supplants the import of frames. Takeover of the complete acquisition for Germany’s largest umbrella factory in Wuppertal, involving regular trips to Taiwan to monitor design and quality in the production plants.

1972
New partners in Taiwan After 10 years, the cooperation with Japanese umbrella frame suppliers is terminated due to prices. Taiwan is cheaper; thus new business relationships are forged, which are upheld for 17 years. Fassbender now also supplies umbrella manufacturers in France and Belgium.


FARE expands


1964

Farewell and takeover Margot Fassbender, who founded the company, dies suddenly at just 31 years of age. The general partnership is dissolved. Gerhard Griesel becomes sole proprietor of the company.

1963

Gerhard Griesel becomes a general partner of Fassbender OHG.

1962
In the course of his first trip to the Far East, Gerhard Griesel meets a Japanese businessman who manufactures parts for umbrellas. A business idea is born. In cooperation with the Japanese, he sets up an import line for umbrella parts. Fassbender supplies German, Austrian and Swiss manufacturers of umbrellas – who were, in those days, numerous – with frames and handles for umbrellas.

1960
Year of separation Guenther Fassbender leaves the company, which becomes a general partnership.


The founding years


1956

After completing vocational training in export sales, Gerhard Griesel joined the Fassbender company in Remscheid-Lennep. In the years following, the company exported virtually anything that could be sold on a global scale: 2,500 hectolitres of beer to Nigeria, mountains of Brussels sprouts and television sets to Singapore ...

1955
Together with his wife Margot, Guenther Fassbender founded the Fassbender company as sole proprietors on 3 January 1955, exporting tools of all kinds to the Near and Far East.

Das ist unsere Geschichte!


Unerwartete Herausforderungen und Digitalisierung

2021
Ein ungewohnter Start in das neue Jahr: Aufgrund der andauernden Pandemie Situation findet die PSI in diesem Jahr nur digital statt. So müssen neue Wege gefunden werden, die Branche über die
Schirm-Neuheiten zu informieren.

Der FARE®-DoggyBrella, ein Schirm mit ganz besonderem Zusatznutzen, wurde mit dem Red Dot Design Award in der Kategorie Produktdesign ausgezeichnet. Sein abnehmbarer Griff ist befüllt mit einer Rolle Hundekotbeuteln. Daneben ist er durchgängig und edel mit Pfotenabdrücken bedruckt – ein Must-have für jeden Hundebesitzer.

FARE ruft die #waterSAVEchallenge ins Leben und unterstützt damit die Organisation viva con agua. Alle Händler sind eingeladen, teilzunehmen. Mit jedem verkauften waterSAVE® Schirmmodell spendet FARE 6 Cent pro eingespartem Liter Wasser für konkrete Projekte wie Wasserfilter, Hygieneworkshops etc. an viva con agua. Der Industriekunde, der sich für das waterSAVE® Schirmmodell entschieden hat, erhält die Spendenurkunde für das unterstütze Projekt.


2020
In diesem Jahr feierte FARE sein 65-jähriges Jubiläum. Eine tatsächliche Feier konnte pandemiebedingt nicht stattfinden, trotzdem gab es viele spannende Ereignisse. Kunden konnten in diesem Jahr von speziellen Aktionsangeboten profitieren.

Im März ging der FARE-Feed online: ein neuer Bereich auf der Homepage mit einer Mischung aus spannenden Geschichten und nützlichen Fakten rund um aktuelle Themen, Kampagnen und Produkte.

Im weiteren Verlauf wurde flexibel auf die aktuelle Situation reagiert und FARE nahm Masken in sein Programm auf. Die wiederverwendbare Community-Maske FARE®-Mundschirm kann dank eines eingeführten Mask-Designers von den Kunden online gestaltet werden. Ein weiterer Meilenstein war die Einführung eines neuen, cloudbasierten ERP-Systems (Warenwirtschaftssystem) im August. Damit hat FARE sich für die digitale Zukunft wettbewerbsfähig und innovativ aufgestellt.

Auch auf der Produktebene war dieses ein durchaus spannendes Jahr. Wieder einmal konnten zwei Neuheiten die Jurys überzeugen und einen Award gewinnen: der Oversize-Taschenschirm FARE®-AOC Colorline ist red dot winner 2020 und der AC-Midsize-Stockschirm FARE®-Sound gewann den Promotional Gift Award 2020.

Die Einführung des waterSAVE Bezugsmaterials am Jahresanfang stellte eine Innovation in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit dar. Hierbei wird der Einsatz recycelter Kunststoffe mit einem nachhaltigen Färbeverfahren kombiniert. Dieses ressourcenschonende Verfahren konnte bei drei Neuheiten und der beliebten Style-Serie eingesetzt werden. Das Bezugsmaterial wurde außerdem nach STANDARD 100 by OEKO-TEX® zertifiziert.

Die beliebte Welcome Home Tour findet erstmals kontaktlos statt: Mit einer virtuellen Messehalle, kombiniert mit Live Präsentationen per Videochat, haben die teilnehmenden Unternehmen eine neue Heimat für die Tour geschaffen.

FARE wurde in der neuen Kategorie der Sustainability Awards „Innovator of the Year“ ausgezeichnet. Die ressourcenschonende Herstellung des waterSAVE® Bezugsmaterials und die Tatsache, das alle Unternehmen entlang der Wertschöpfungskette – vom Hersteller bis zum Endkunden – eine Vorbildfunktion in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit erfüllen, konnte die Jury überzeugen.


Intensiveres Marketing, neue Innovationen und weiteres Wachstum


2019

Modernes Design, verbunden mit der FARE®-üblichen Qualität, war auch bei unseren diesjährigen Neuheiten ein wichtiger Antrieb, unsere Produkte weiterhin besonders zu gestalten. Das bewiesen wieder einmal mehr der 5062 Mini-Taschenschirm FiligRain Only95 sowie der
7399 FARE®-Precious, die im Red Dot Award: Product Design 2019 eine doppelte Auszeichnung erringen konnten.

Mit dem Entschluss von FARE® nun im September 2019 eine Ausbildung eigener Azubis in den Fachbereichen Lagerlogistik und Kaufmann / -frau im E-Kommerce, ebenso wird ein Duales Studium mit dem Schwerpunkt der Wirtschaftsinformatik anzubieten, soll weiterhin eine erfolgreiche Zukunft für das Unternehmen gesichert werden.

Im Juli war es endlich soweit! Der FARE®-Neubau konnte eingeweiht und bezogen werden! Dies erfolgte mit einem kleinen Sommerfest, wo die Geschäftsführung mit Mitarbeitern, Angehörigen, Architekten, Nachbarn, Vertretern der ausführenden Firmen und Handwerkern den Einzug feierten. 

Damit beginnt ein neues Kapitel für FARE®. Die erfolgreiche Investition in den Anbau ist somit ein Versprechen für die Zukunft und langfristige Entwicklung des Unternehmens.


2017 - 2018
Das Thema "Nachhaltigkeit" wird auch in der Werbemittelbranche immer wichtiger. Wir von FARE® sind die ersten in der Schirmbranche gewesen, die das Thema "grüner Artikel" 2011 angegangen sind. Unser Artikel 3299 ÖkoBrella hat einen Bezug aus recyceltem Kunststoffmaterial und ein Gestell aus schnell nachwachsendem Bambus. Anfang September 2017 wird der 5429 AOC-Mini-Taschenschirm ÖkoBrella als nachhaltiges Produkt des Jahres 2017 von der Jury des PSI Sustainability Awards ausgezeichnet.

Mitte September des Jahres startet ein echtes Großprojekt - mit dem Spatenstich eröffnet Geschäftsführer Volker Griesel offiziell die Baustelle zu einem Erweiterungsbau, der die bisher getrennten Gebäude verbindet und ein repräsentatives Ganzes schafft.

Ideenreichtum und Qualität sind zwei wichtige Eigenschaften, die unsere Produkte ausmachen. Das beweisen einmal mehr der 7905 AC-Midsize-Stockschirm FARE®-Switch mit dem LED-beleuchteten Stock, der im Dezember mit dem Promotional Gift Award 2018 ausgezeichnet wurde, sowie der 7939 Gästeschirm FARE®-Square mit der Auszeichnung "Honourable Mention" im Red Dot Award: Product Design 2018. Produkte, die mit gut durchdachten Detaillösungen überzeugen, werden für einen besonders gelungenen Aspekt gestalterischer Arbeit mit dieser lobenden Erwähnung geehrt.

Zusätzlich zum FARE® Hauptkatalog - jetzt FACTBOOK genannt wird erstmals das FARE® STYLEBOOK aufgelegt. Damit steht dem Werbemittelhandel eine neue Verkaufsunterlage für Ihre Industriekunden zur Verfügung, die auf 32 Seiten einfach Appetit auf unsere Qualitätsschirme macht!

Mit dem Richtfest im Mai 2018 wird die Fertigstellung des Rohbaus traditionell zünftig gefeiert und der Weg in eine erfolgreiche Zukunft geebnet.


2016
Die Jury des Promotional Gift Awards vergab dem FARE®-Style für sein besonderes Farbkonzept eine Auszeichnung in der Kategorie „Kommunikatives Produkt“. Ein Grund mehr, die erfolgreiche Style-Familie mit einem Automatik-Taschenschirm zu erweitern, der die außergewöhnliche Kombination der farbigen Schienen und Griffringe aufnimmt und mit farbigen Nähten erweitert.

Auch der elektrische Mini-Taschenschirm FARE®-iAuto wurde von dieser Jury ausgezeichnet. Zudem erhielt unsere Weltneuheit, die sich auf Knopfdruck elektrisch vollständig öffnet und schließt, auch den anerkannten Red Dot Design Award.

Im Rahmen des Events "Wirtschaft erleben" wird der FARE® Werksverkauf in Remscheid Lüttringhausen eröffnet, in dem wir einen Teil unseres Sortimentes ausstellen und zum Verkauf anbieten.

Unter www.fabrella.de hat FARE® einen Onlineshop für Endverbraucher bereitgestellt.


2012 - 2015
Konsequent treibt das FARE®-Team die Produkterweiterungen und -entwicklungen voran und kleine noch vorhandene Sortimentslücken werden geschlossen. Die Neuheiten sind auf den Werbemarkt abgestimmt und überzeugen durch modische und innovative Produkte. Ein verantwortungsvoller Umgang mit Umwelt und Mensch in den Fertigungsstätten ist FARE sehr wichtig. Aus diesem Grund ist das Unternehmen Mitglied im amfori BSCI. Durch die ständige Auditierung setzt sich FARE nachweislich und sichtbar für faire Arbeitsbedingungen und Arbeitsschutz in den Lieferländern ein.

Im Sommer 2015 feiert FARE® 60-jähriges Firmenbestehen in der Wolkenburg Köln.

Anlässlich dieses Events stellt FARE eine Weltneuheit vor: FARE®-iAuto! Der erste Taschenschirm, der sich per Knopfdruck elektrisch öffnen und vollständig wieder schließen lässt. Statt Geschenken wünscht sich Geschäftsführer Volker Griesel zum 60. Firmen-Geburtstag strahlende Kinderaugen. 20.000 Euro werden im August an Salvatore Lerose überreicht, um die Fördermaßnahmen der Lerose-Stiftung zu unterstützen.

Durch den Zuzug von Flüchtlingen ist der Bedarf an Kleidung & Hygieneartikeln groß. Auch Regenschirme werden in den Notunterkünften dringend benötigt. Neben Schirmspenden unterstützt FARE® das Flüchtlingsprojekt von Radiojournalist Horst Kläuser und entwickelt den "Remscheider Schirm für Flüchtlinge". Diverse Remscheider Einzelhandelsgeschäfte verkaufen den Schirm. Die Erlöse der Schirme gehen sofort in die Flüchtlingsarbeit.

Mit der Einführung des FARE®-Style bietet FARE® einen eleganten Midsize-Stockschirm mit anthrazitfarbenem Bezug und einem überraschenden Farbkonzept an; beim Öffnen auf Knopfdruck werden die leuchtenden Farben von Stock, Schienen und Griffring freigelegt, sie verleihen dem Schirm ein ansprechendes Gesamtdesign.

Im Herbst wird die neue Internetseite mit neuem Webshop veröffentlicht.

Günter Schmidt erhält 2015 Prokura, Ende 2015 ist das FARE®-Team auf 42 Mitarbeiter gewachsen.


2013
Konsequent treibt das FARE® Team die Produkterweiterungen und -entwicklungen voran. Die Neuheiten-Modelle sind auf den Werbemarkt abgestimmt und überzeugen durch modische und innovative Modelle. Ein verantwortungsvoller Umgang mit Umwelt und Mensch in den Fertigungsstätten ist FARE® sehr wichtig. Aus diesem Grund ist das Unternehmen Mitglied im amfori BSCI. Durch die ständige Auditierung setzt sich FARE® nachweislich und sichtbar für faire Arbeitsbedingungen und Arbeitsschutz in den Lieferländern ein. Zum Verhaltenskodex.


2012

Verstärkung im Vertriebsteam und die Etablierung einer IT-Abteilung lassen das FARE®-Team weiter wachsen. Die neue PR-Kampagne "Ich bin echt", welche Schirme wie Menschen in bekannten Lebenssituationen darstellt, findet großen Zuspruch. Lutz Albrecht erhält Prokura.


2011
Das FARE®-Team ist mittlerweile auf 34 Mitarbeiter angewachsen. Eine interne Marketingabteilung wird im Unternehmen etabliert. Die Marketingaktivitäten werden intensiviert. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Werbeagentur wird das Markenleitbild überarbeitet. Im Zuge der Entwicklung eines neuen Corporate Designs für FARE® wird das Logo erneut modifiziert. Der dominante Schatten verschwindet.


Produktentwicklung- den Schirm immer wieder neu erfinden

2009
Erweiterung der Büroräume, zweites Hochregallager sowie Einzug der Siebdruckerei.

2007
Änderung der Firmierung. Die ehemalige Guenther Fassbender Inh. Gerhard Griesel GmbH firmiert seit dem 01.01.2007 unter FARE – Guenther Fassbender GmbH. Der Markenname FARE® steht hier wie beim neuen Logo deutlich im Vordergrund und rundet somit die 2005 begonnene Markenmodernisierung ab.

2006
Die JCK Holding GmbH Textil KG wird Gesellschafter bei FARE® und schafft durch die weltweite Präsenz in Vertrieb und Beschaffung wertvolle Synergien. Unter dem Dach der Holding befinden sich mehrere in der Werbeartikelbranche bekannte Unternehmen (siehe "Unsere Partner").

2005
FARE® feiert 50. Geburtstag. Im Jubeljahr steht das FARE®-Team dort, wo es sein will: 25 Millionen Schirme werden jährlich nach Deutschland importiert, ca. 1,5 Millionen stammen von FARE. Das bedeutet einen quantitativen Marktanteil von ca. 6%. Den wertmäßigen Anteil beziffert FARE® mit rund 15%. Das FARE-Logo wird modifiziert. Es ist modern, klar und eindeutig. Die Raute als Piktogramm wurde beibehalten, die Weltkugel ist einem stilisierten Schirm gewichen. Im Zentrum des neuen Logos: FARE® als Marke.

2004
Junior-Chef Volker Griesel übernimmt 100% der GmbH-Anteile. Mehrere Mitarbeiter feiern ihre langjährige Firmenzugehörigkeit (10 Jahre: S. Heinrich, 15 Jahre: G. Dörner, 25 Jahre: B. Drewniok).

2002/03
FARE® ist erster Anbieter von TÜV-zertifizierten - Doppelautomatik- Taschenschirmen im Oversize Format.

2001
Der Neubau eines großzügigen Gebäudes mit Hochregallager nach modernsten Maßstäben stellt sicher, dass das junge, tatkräftige Team die FARE-Maxime „Höchste Qualität, marktgerechter Preis und exzellenter Service“ erfüllen kann. Die Mitarbeiterzahl wird verdoppelt. Und wieder etwas Neues: FARE bietet den ersten Rucksack an.

2000
FARE präsentiert als erster Anbieter eine TÜV-Zertifizierung für einige Spitzenmodelle. Ab sofort werden alle Produkte der Marke Windfighter® mit einem TÜV-Siegel ausgestattet.


Die Unternehmensnachfolge wird gesichert


1999/2000

Innovation à la FARE
Als erster und bis heute weltweit einziger Anbieter bringt FARE den Genie® Magic auf den Markt – den kleinsten automatisch öffnenden und schließenden Taschenschirm der Welt.

1998
Durch eine 40%ige Beteiligung von Sohn Volker Griesel, der die Geschäftsführung übernimmt, wird die Unternehmensnachfolge eingeleitet. Markenprodukte und ISO-Norm-Fertigungen einzelner Produkte tragen dazu bei, FARE als erstklassige eigenständige Marke zu etablieren. Bester Beweis: Wiederum ist FARE der erste Anbieter eines magischen, automatisch öffnenden und schließenden Mini-Taschenschirmes in Aluminium-Ausführung: Der Magic-Light® bringt lediglich 300 Gramm auf die Waage.

1997
Der Senior holt den Junior mit ins Boot: Gerhard Griesel und Sohn Volker reisen nach Taiwan und Hongkong sowie nach China. Im gleichen Jahr ist FARE der erste Anbieter eines Mini-Taschenschirmes aus Aluminium mit nur 200 Gramm Gewicht.

1994/95
FARE sichert sich den Exklusiv-Verkauf der neuen Mini-Taschenschirm-Generation, die sich automatisch öffnet und schließt: Der magische Mini wird bei FARE als Trimagic® ein Renner.

1993
Modifizierung des FARE-Logos. Die Farbgebung wird geändert. Die Weltkugel, entstanden in der exportorientierten Zeit, bleibt bestehen. Der erste vollständige FARE-Katalog wird veröffentlicht. FARE konzentriert sich voll und ganz auf Werbeschirme im hohen Qualitätsbereich.


Die erste Weltneuheit


1989

Umwandlung der Firma in eine GmbH. Gerhard Griesel verlegt die Schirmfertigung – auch Taiwan ist zu teuer – nach China und präsentiert der Welt eine absolute Neuheit: den ersten automatisch öffnenden und schließenden Taschenschirm der Welt unter dem Namen „Schwupps “, später auch als FUTEC bekannt.

1986
Neues Domizil
Umzug in neue, größere Geschäftsräume in Remscheid-Lennep, Westring 20.


Konzentration auf Werbeschirme


1977

Regenschirme an erster Stelle
Asien hat mächtig aufgeholt und so wundert es kaum, dass der Werkzeugexport rückläufig ist. Also konzentriert sich Gerhard Griesel verstärkt auf Schirme: Der Import von kompletten Modeschirmen löst die Einfuhr von Gestellen sukzessive ab. Übernahme der kompletten Beschaffung für die größte deutsche Schirmfabrik in Wuppertal, verbunden mit regelmäßigen Taiwanreisen zur Design- und Qualitätskontrolle in den Lieferwerken.

1972
Neue Partner in Taiwan
Nach 10 Jahren muss die Verbindung mit japanischen Schirmgestelllieferanten aus Preisgründen beendet werden. Taiwan ist günstiger und so wird dort eine neue Geschäftsverbindung aufgebaut, die sogar 17 Jahre lang halten soll. Jetzt werden auch Schirmfabriken in Frankreich und Belgien von Fassbender beliefert.


FARE expandiert


1964

Abschied und Übernahme
Im Alter von nur 31 Jahren stirbt plötzlich die Firmengründerin Margot Fassbender. Die OHG wird aufgelöst. Gerhard Griesel wird Alleininhaber der Einzelfirma.

1963
Gerhard Griesel wird persönlich haftender Gesellschafter der Fassbender OHG.

1962
Bei seiner ersten Fernostreise lernt Gerhard Griesel einen japanischen Geschäftsmann kennen, der Schirmteile herstellt. Das ist die Geburtsstunde einer Geschäftsidee. Also baut er in Kooperation mit den Japanern eine Importschiene für Schirmteile aus. Fassbender beliefert die damals noch zahlreichen Schirmhersteller in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz mit Schirmgestellen und -griffen. (Links im Bild: Gerhard Griesel bei der Begutachtung chinesischer Schirmproduktion in Taiwan)



1960

Das Trennungsjahr. Guenther Fassbender scheidet aus der Firma aus, die sich in eine OHG umwandelt.


Die Gründungsjahre


1956

Nach seiner Ausbildung zum Exportkaufmann tritt Gerhard Griesel in die Firma Fassbender in Remscheid-Lennep ein. In den Folgejahren exportiert die Firma nahezu alles, was sich in der ganzen Welt verkaufen lässt: 2.500 Hektoliter Bier nach Nigeria, Berge von Rosenkohl und TV-Geräte nach Singapur.

1955
Guenther Fassbender gründet zusammen mit seiner Frau Margot am 3. Januar 1955 die Einzelfirma Fassbender und exportiert Werkzeuge aller Art nach Nah- und Fernost.